Presidential Committees 2015-2016

Awards and Recognition Committee

The purpose and function of this committee shall be:

- Annually recommend individuals to the Chadron State Alumni Association and CSC President for:
 - Commencement Speakers recommendations made to the chair of the Commencement Committee
 - Distinguished Service Award
 - o Distinguished Alumni Award
 - o Distinguished Young Alumnus Award
 - o Family Tree Award
 - o Honorary Doctorate
 - o Executive-in-Residence
 - o Scholar-in-Residence
- Coordinate, as appropriate, with those responsible for Commencement, Family Day, Homecoming, and Ivy Day
- Solicit, review, and screen nominations of eligible faculty for the Chadron State College *Outstanding Teaching Award* and the *Nebraska State College System Teaching Excellence Award* and make recommendations to the President
- Submit an annual report to the President's office prior to May 15 each year.

MEMBERS:

Karen Pope, Co-Chair
Joyce Hardy, Co-Chair
Tim Anderson
Teresa Frink
Sandy Schaefer (Faculty Senate President)
Mike Bogner
Con Marshall
Connie Rasmussen
Scott Ritzen
Don King
Lou Alcorn (Alumni Assoc. Pres.)

3 December 2015 Page 1 of 7

Campus Facilities, Safety and ADA Compliance Committee

The purpose and function of this committee shall be:

- Review campus facilities for safety and ADA compliance and recommend changes as needed
- Review the accommodations provided for special need students and recommend changes as needed
- Assess the campus for utilitarian and aesthetic needs such as parking, lighting, sidewalks and landscaping and recommend needed changes
- Submit an annual report to the President's office prior to May 15 each year to include:
 - Minutes of meetings
 - o Changes implemented in previous year for ADA compliance, accommodation, and utilitarian, safety and aesthetic needs
 - Assessment of current ADA compliance in physical facilities and grounds with respect to strengths, weaknesses and recommendations
 - Assessment of current accommodations of special needs students with respect to strengths, weaknesses and recommendations for improvement
 - Assessment of current utilitarian, safety and aesthetic needs for the campus and include strengths, weaknesses and recommendations

MEMBERS:

Dale Grant, Chair

Melvin Ainslie (NAPE rep)

Brenda Barry-Schommer

Todd Baumann

Blair Brennan

Jerry Cassiday

Scott Cavin

Ann Dockweiler

Anne DeMersseman

Don Keiper

Tim Keith

Silas Kern

Lucinda Mays

Hank McCallum

____, (NAPE rep)

Harold Mowry

Sherri Simons

Nate Jones (undergrad student)

Zack Bargen (graduate student)

Commencement Committee

The purpose and function of this committee shall be:

- Plan and coordinate annual graduation ceremonies
- Plan and coordinate the logistical setup for the ceremonies
- Recommend commencement speakers to the president in coordination with the Awards and Recognition Committee
- Submit an annual report to the President's office prior to May 15 each year to include:
 - o Minutes of meetings
 - Assessment of the two annual commencement events with respect to strengths, weaknesses and recommendations for planning and logistics
 - Assessment of the current processes for selecting commencement speakers with recommendations to the president

MEMBERS:

Dale Williamson, Co-Chair
Michele Rickenbach, Co-Chair
Leslie Bargen
Scott Cavin
Tena Cook
Ann Dockweiler
Dale Grant
Joel Hyer
Shellie Johns
Kathleen Kirsch
Connie Rasmussen
Sidney Shuler
Charles Snare
Nathaniel Brown (student)

3 December 2015 Page 3 of 7

Diversity Committee

The purpose and function of this committee shall be:

- Develop a Campus Diversity Plan
- Submit an annual report to the President's office prior to May 15 each year to include:
 - o Minutes of meetings
 - o Current College Diversity Plan
 - Assessment of progress toward achievement of diversity goals with respect to strengths, weaknesses and recommendations

MEMBERS:

Bruce Hoem, Co-Chair

Shellie Johns, Co-Chair

Pat Beu

Anne DeMersseman

Chris Green

Shawn Hartman

Richard Kenney

Kayla Kintz

Billie Knifong

David Nesheim

Sarah Polak

William Roweton

Jennifer Schaer

Laure Sinn

Austen Stephens

Ted Tewahade

Gavan Archibald (student)

Katrina Hurley (student)

Emergency Response Team

The purpose and function of this team shall be:

- To review and keep current all emergency response plans.
- To meet when emergency situations occur to manage campus response.
- To assist local, state and federal authorities as needed during an emergency.
- To cultivate relationships with off-campus police, fire, medical and emergency agencies prior to an emergency occurring to ensure campus response is compatible with local efforts.

This committee will take the campus leadership role during disaster situations. This role includes but is not limited to the following: protecting our students and staff from harm; determining what can be done to limit additional damage to property; securing the campus during an emergency; communicating with the lead agency for the disaster; handling press releases; providing services to the community and region, if needed.

MEMBERS:

Dale Grant, Chair

Brenda Barry-Schommer

Robin Brierly

Ann Burk

Tena Cook

Ann Dockweiler

Sherry Douglas

Anne DeMersseman, Associate VP Human Resource

Chris Green

Jon Hansen

Alex Helmbrecht

Joel Hyer

Don Keiper

James Margetts

James Powell

Randy Rhine

Shane Sanders, Campus Resource Officer

Andrew Schmid

Sherri Simons

Charles Snare

Kathleen Woods

Karl Dailey, Sheriff

Tim Lordino, Police Chief

Harold Krueger, Chadron Community Hospital

Nan Thornton, Region 23 Emergency Management

Del Hussey, Red Cross

Dr. Caroline Winchester, Chadron City Schools

Aaron Chrisman, Chadron City Schools Resource Officer (308-430-2625 cell or 308-530-2290cell)

Homecoming Committee

The purpose and function of this committee shall be:

- Plan, publicize, implement and facilitate all Homecoming activities
- Submit an annual report to the President's office prior to May 15 each year to include:
 - o Minutes of meetings
 - Evaluation of all activities and events associated with Homecoming week with respect to strengths, weaknesses and recommendations for future planning

MEMBERS:

Rick Koza, Co-Chair

Wendy Jamison - Co chair

Todd Baumann

Tena Cook

Sarah Dykes

Chris Green

Jon Hansen

Shellie Johns

Billie Knifong

Con Marshall

Harold Mowry

Karen Pope

Jennifer Schaer

Sidney Shuler

Laure Sinn

Joel Smith

Austen Stephens

Katrina Hurley (Student Senate President)

Stephanie Steele (CAB Chair)

Chelsea Evans (Student)

Tileen Sullivan (Student)

Scholastic Day Committee

The purpose and function of this committee shall be:

- Select the date for the event
- Plan, organize and implement the event
- Submit an annual report to the President's office prior to May 15 each year to include:
 - Minutes of meetings
 - Evaluation of the current year's event with respect to strengths, weaknesses and recommendations

MEMBERS:

Beth Wentworth, Chair

Tena Cook

Chris Green

Jamie Hamaker

Shellie Johns

Kayla Kintz

James Margetts

Jeri Neuharth

Andrew Schmid

Laure Sinn

James Wright

Katrina Hurley - Student Senate Rep

Stephanie Steele - CAB Rep